top of page

6 Pasta-tively Easy Pasta Dishes

Holy Cannelloni!

Right when everything was going so well in life, we were thrown a curve ball. Isn't that how life goes? We get so far ahead and then take three steps back. It's nauseating. I'm not saying that just because my antibiotics make me queasy either. This year was going so well, until it wasn't. If I learn one thing from this year, it would be this:

NEVER EVER BUY GLASS JARS EVER AGAIN.


 
 

Never in a million bajillion years did I ever think I would do something like this! My day started out pretty average this past Monday. I went to work, the sun was shining, and I decided to grocery shop for my family before coming home on my lunch break. As I was putting away out groceries in our kitchen, I grabbed a plastic bag that I filled with two jars of spaghetti sauce and a frozen pizza. I pulled the pizza box out of the bag and made my way to our freezer to put it away. I set the plastic bag with two jars of spaghetti sauce slowly down onto the kitchen mat on the floor to my left.


Next thing I know, my socks were covered in spaghetti sauce! I turned around and starred at the huge mess on the floor. Thinking to myself: REALLY? How often am I going to break these dang spaghetti jars?! Now I have to clean up this whole mess before I can go back to work. It's going to set you back. Between my kids and I, we've broken almost every single glass cereal bowl we owned at one time. I've dropped more glass cups than I even want to admit! Don't even get me started on how many times I've dropped a jar of spaghetti sauce on the floor. I think I have a problem.


I looked down at the huge mess on the floor. Then flipped my foot over looking at the spaghetti sauce all over the bottom of my feet. That's when I noticed something wasn't right. I was wearing socks, but I could see the skin of my foot. Not just the sink, but I could see that my foot was cut. That wasn't just spaghetti sauce on my sock, was it?


Que the pain. Que the adrenaline. Que the panic. I went straight into survival mode. My son was home with me and I knew I needed to be okay for him. I need to STAY AWAKE for him. I was bleeding and it wasn't just a little. My blood was pooling in puddles all over my kitchen as I grabbed the nearest kitchen towel I could find. I called my parents on speaker first. I knew I needed to get someone on the phone immediately in case I blacked out.


I remember my mom answering the phone in a lovely voice "Hello Sweetie"- something like that. All I could get out was: "MOM!" "I CUT MYSELF!" "THERE'S F***ING BLOOD EVERYWHERE!" "I need you NOW!". Her reaction instantly changed, as I heard her talk to my dad saying "SCOTT! JACKIE!" He said, "What?" Because he's been working from home since the pandemic started. My Mom yelled back at him, "JACKIE!" Then hung up the phone.


Before I panicked too much and jumped straight to calling 9-1-1, I called my husband. He's use to me freaking out over little things and thought this was just another little thing. He told me to call back and FaceTime him. He asked that I removed my sock so he could actually see what the issue was. When I removed it, I totally lost all it. I started balling my eyes out, I panicked, I was shocked, and just kept thinking 'No, this isn't happening!'. All my husband said was, yup were going to the ER.


I'll spare you the gory pictures. He instructed me to grab a kitchen towel and find a way to wrap my foot up tight to stop the bleeding and he would meet me at the ER. The ball of my foot was just about sliced off. The spaghetti sauce somehow fell out of the bag and crashed in front of me as I was walking. It all happened so fast and I was unaware of it crashing. I must have stepped right onto the glass and sliced my foot. There was so much blood. My foot look like you took a can opener to it.


Thankfully, my parents got there quickly and my dad rushed me to the ER. My mom was such a trooper and willing stayed behind to clean up what looked liked a murder scene. After the most painful experience of my life- yes surpassing having bone marrow extracted from my shoulder bone while awake, kidney stones, and contractions with my son- this was BY FAR the WORST pain I've endured. I never want to experience having a numbing needle shot in my foot multiple times. A lot of crying and uncontrollable cussing later, I had 16 stitches in the bottom of my foot. The nurse that stitched me said, "Well, besides the bottom of your foot looking like a baseball, it looks pretty good." Thanks...


While waiting in the ER and explaining what happened to multiple people, a few x-ray technicians couldn't stop discussing pasta dishes that sounded delicious. It was a little funny and also probably the last thing I wanted to hear. On top of that, my jokingly sarcastic lovable husband, kept joking about how the kids would probably ask for spaghetti tonight. Guess what, they did ask for spaghetti that night too. haha. We vowed that we will NEVER buy glass jars ever again. So much for paying off a bunch of debt this year, the medical bill for this is going to cost a pretty penne.


While I've been grounded to the couch for the next couple weeks and my husband has to do all the cooking. I thought it be kind of hilarious to round up 6 Pasta-tively Easy Pasta Dishes! Here are some of our absolute favorite dishes and some I really want to try. These dishes are so good, it's pre-pasta-rous!


 

6 Pasta-tively Easy Pasta Dishes



1. Aerianna and Jaxon's Favorite Pasta Dish: Shrimp and Alfredo


We made the switch to Banza pasta at the end of last year. My husband and I just couldn't handle regular pasta anymore. Our stomachs just didn't agree with it.


I had seen and heard good things about Banza and decided to give one box a try. I was so surprised that it didn't taste bad, leave a weird after taste, or have a grainy texture like most other pasta alternatives.


The most surprising thing of all: my kids ate every bite! They didn't even notice the switch and they loved it. My husband and kids are the pickiest eaters ever!


This dish is a winner winner shrimpy dinner! You can get the recipe here.


Use My Code: EATBANZA30 to get 30% off your first bulk order at www.eatbanza.com



2. Eggplant Parmesan with Hearty Red Sauce Spaghetti


I love a good Eggplant Parmesan dinner!


Julie Chiou makes her Eggplant breading very similar to mine. Come on, how delicious does her dish look?!

All that yummy melted cheese.


I have a eggplant in my fridge right now and this is making me crave it something fierce! Did you know you can bread the eggplants and then freeze them?


Perfect, right?! Make ahead and freeze them. Take them out, fry them up in a little oil for a super quick dinner on the fly!





3. Lemon Ricotta Pasta & Spinach


How refreshing does this spring/summer dish look?!


Katia describes this meal as fresh, delicious, and minimal effort! Sounds like the perfect fit for this busy family.


I'm defiantly giving this recipe a try as soon as I am able to get up and cook!


This pasta dish would pair so well with some grilled chicken, grilled salmon, or some grilled veggies like zucchini and asparagus.




4. Homemade Mac and Cheese with Bacon Crumbles


This looks so creamy, decadent, and comforting. Chew Out Loud makes this Creamy Mac ‘n Cheese super rich and creamy with sharp white cheddar and gruyere cheeses. Then tops it with some crispy bacon. Mmmmmm, bacon.


I'll be adding this dish to my list of things to make as well. Do you have a good homemade mac and cheese recipe?




5. Lasagna Soup: A Twist On A Classic Dish


Does this bowl of Lasagna Soup just make you swoon over it?


I love lasagna. Maybe not as much as Garfield, but it's a close tie. Growing up we made lasagna with ground beef and ground sausage. Instead of ricotta, my parents used cottage cheese.


When I started dating my husband, his family made it with ricotta and no sausage. I was introduced to a whole new world. Ricotta is delicious! haha.


I need to try making this Lasagna Soup! This would be a great dish to make in the fall and winter months.





6. Oodles and Oodles of Zoodles


A healthy switch on another classic dish: spaghetti and meatballs. This one is for all my veggie lovers, gluten-free, keto friends, and Mediterranean diet lovers.


Zucchini is so underrated! I love making zoodles with sautéed long strands of onion. It adds so much more flavor.


My sister has made lasagna with Zucchini! How yummy does that sound?


Head over to A Dash Of Megnut for her Zoodle and Turkey Meatball Recipe. She is a gluten-free food blogger that shares recipes to please a family or entertain a crowd!






I hope you enjoyed this collection of sinfully delicious pasta recipes. I think we all learned one important thing today: Don't Step On Glass! Enjoy Friends.






 

Did You Try These Recipes? Tag Me Now!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page