top of page

Mini Egg Casseroles Recipe

One of my favorite breakfast recipes is Egg Casserole! Except, I live in a household of people who don't like egg casserole. That's okay... Mom will just make mini ones for herself! This recipe is a perfect breakfast to cram in the all the veggies! That's why it's one of my go to recipes when I switched to a Keto & Mediterranean lifestyle.


My son loves to help me in the kitchen! He likes when we call him "Chef" and his favorite part is chopping up the veggies! They say if you let your kids help make their food; that your kids will be more accepting of trying new things. Jaxon is my pickiest of eaters. He isn't a fan of meat, potatoes, or veggies. Surprisingly to me, that boy ate a whole mini egg casserole with spinach, red peppers, onions, and mushrooms in it. All of which he hates! They must be pretty darn good if he ate the whole thing!

 
 

Mini Egg Casseroles Recipe

(makes about 6 - muffin tin size)


- I N G R E D I E N T S -

  • 6 eggs

  • 2-4 tbsp of heavy cream (eye ball it)

  • salt & pepper

  • 1 small onion; diced

  • 1/3 of a red bell pepper; diced

  • 3 large cap mushrooms; diced

  • a large handful of fresh baby spinach

  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

  • Optional: any pre-cooked meats, other veggies you love, or swap the cheeses to create unique little egg casserole bites!

  • olive oil or olive oil plant based butter for cooking

  • muffin tin or cupcake tin

  • liners are optional

- I N S T R U C T I O N S -

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

  2. In a bowl, crack and scramble 6 eggs, add salt and pepper, and pour in 2-4 tbsp of heavy cream. I eye ball the amount!

3. Meanwhile, dice up your onion, red pepper, and mushrooms. You can also add cooked ground sausage, crumbled bacon, or small pieces of ham if you wish. You can pick which veggies and/or meats you like in your eggs. Have your ingredients ready to go!

4. In a frying pan, add a few tablespoons of butter, olive oil, or olive oil plant based butter to the pan. Next, dump the onions and mushrooms into the pan! We will cook these items first. You will want them just soft but not over cooked. Transfer the onions and mushrooms to a bowl, while the remaining ingredients get cooked down. Next, I toss the red bell peppers in the pan. They won't take long- a few seconds and they're good to go. Lastly, toss in a couple handfuls of spinach into the frying pan. You may need more butter at this point to cook down the spinach. Don't forget to season your veggies as you go!

5. Once your veggies are cooked, you can put a spoonful of each into the muffin tins or cupcake tins. You can use liners if you want or just spray the wells with some olive oil spray. I like to start with my veggies first, then the a pinch of cheese, and lastly I will top it with the egg mixture. You don't need a lot of egg mixture, just enough to cover the veggies.

6. Pop the pan into the oven at 375 and bake for roughly 15-25 minutes. You'll want to watch them. Once they puff up, the eggs don't look wiggle or jiggly, and they spring back when you poke the tops, then they are done. Let them cool for a little bit. They will sink in on themselves some.. this is normal. Enjoy!

 

Did You Try This Recipe? Tag Me Now!









14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page