top of page

Strawberry Coffee Cake Muffins

These muffins are so good my Grandma paid me for them!

 

Original Recipe by: Sugar and Soul:

 

I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest this past spring & my life has changed forever!

These muffins can be made with any fresh fruit you desire (strawberry, blueberry, and even cranberry!) and that coffee cake crumble on top is what heaven is made of... or at least I hope so!


We have strawberry plants and three blueberry bushes that I planted in our yard this past summer. This recipe is perfect for using up those fresh fruits quickly. That is if my kids don't eat all the blueberries off the bush before I can pick them. They have loved growing their own food and being able to cook with it too.


These muffins are easy to make and freeze so well too! I've got a bag of them in my freezer right now. We baked up a quadruple batch to provide muffins for our freezer, my grandmother, my parents, and my sister! Ready to make yours? Let's GO!




Recipe Tips from Sugar and Soul:


  1. Fresh Fruit should always be used in this recipe! Frozen fruits add too much water/juice to the batter, making it soggy, and the muffins will not rise properly.

  2. Buttermilk is a MUST! Trust me. I've tried their substitute buttermilk idea the first time I made these and then tried using buttermilk from the store. There was a huge difference in taste and consistency of the batter. It changes everything!


Strawberry Coffee Cake Muffins


- I N G R E D I E N T S -

Muffins:


Crumble:


- I N S T R U C T I O N S -

Preheat over to 375 F.

  • Line muffin pan with liners.

  • Beat butter and sugar in a mixing bowl.

  • Beat in egg and vanilla.

  • Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl.

  • Slowly add buttermilk and flour mix, alternating between until incorporated in the butter mix.

  • Beat until completely combined.

  • Gently fold in all of the strawberries.

  • Add about 1/4 cup of batter to each muffin liner.

  • In a mixing bowl, beat crumble ingredients until it looks ... well crumbly.

  • Sprinkle crumble on the tops of the muffins.

  • Reduce oven heat to 350 F.

  • Bake muffins for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. All ovens are different.


Did You Try This Recipe? Tag Me Now!




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page