top of page

Valentine Sugar Cookies: A Minman Family Recipe

Family recipes passed down through the generations are my absolute favorite and boy do we have a few of them! I may be bias, but my mothers' side of the family might have been some of the best infamous chefs ever! Every recipe made is a crowd pleaser, complimented, and raved about years later.


Valentine's Day is a sweet and precious holiday to celebrate, but we celebrate Valentine's Day a little differently then some families. We don't get dolled up and go on romantic dinner dates as a couple. We don't fuss much over each other, buying chocolates for one another, or giving each other gifts. We try to find ways to celebrate the holiday. Sometimes that is decorating the house, doing a craft, or baking a holiday treat. Valentine's Day is different for us because my parents celebrate their wedding anniversary on this day and my husbands' mother celebrates her birthday! As you can see, we've got a lot of love to give and share on that day. Just the way it should be!

 


This year things are a little different because of Covid-19. My daughter wasn't even allowed to exchange Valentine cards at school or have a party. That is just so sad. Valentine's Day might have been one of my most favorite school parties when I was in elementary! My daughter, Aerianna, was pretty bummed over this. Since we've been around my sister and parents quite often throughout the whole pandemic, we felt is was safe to have them over to help decorate some Valentine Sugar Cookies.


Jaxon and I spent the morning mixing up the sugar cookie dough. A recipe that has been passed from my grandmother. We made this recipe countless of times growing up. I let Jaxon have a small ball of cookie dough to roll out because let's face it he has to do it himself. I love him, but his "ME DO" attitude and growing independence can be a lot to handle most days. He was pretty happy rolling out and cutting his own cookies.



We picked up these Valentine cookie cutters from Walmart. I absolutely love them, mainly because the "O" reminds me of a donut and I thought those would be cute cookies to make one day. hahaha. This sugar cookie recipe holds it shape very well too. You won't have people questioning the shapes of your cookies here.


We spent a beautiful sunny afternoon frosting cookies together and watching my kids dump a whole bottle of sprinkles on one cookie. Most of the time we mix up a royal icing or our family's buttercream icing recipe for these cookies. I choose to take the easy way out and just buy a couple cans of Pillsbury frosting. This way the kids could just dive into decorating and I would have less to clean up. I love to fuss when I bake, but the older I get, the less mess I want. These cookies turned out so good! They were so soft, so flavorful, and honestly the strawberry Pillsbury frosting made these cookies simply perfect for Valentine's Day.



 

Minman Sugar Cookie Recipe

(makes 5 dozen 2 inch cookies)


- I N G R E D I E N T S -

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

  • 1 cup butter (2 sticks)

  • 1 egg

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • 1/2 tsp almond or orange extract

  • 2 1/2 cups flour

  • 1 tsp baking soda

  • 1 tsp cream of tartar


- I N S T R U C T I O N S -

  1. Cream together powdered sugar, butter, egg, vanilla, and almond or orange extract.

  2. Combine flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar into your wet mixture.

  3. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours.

  4. Divide dough into half and roll dough to 1/4-1/2 inch thick on a lightly floured surface. I tend to roll it out on the thicker side of 1/2 inch because they stay softer. Using cookie cutters, cut dough into shapes.

  5. Bake at 375 degrees on a greased cookie sheet or lined cookie sheet with parchment paper for 7-8 minutes. Watch cookies so they do not burn. They only need to be lightly golden underneath. When they have reached lightly golden and remove from oven.

  6. Decorate cookies as you wish. Tip: For an easy and quick frosting, buy pre-made Pillsbury jarred frosting. Transfer to a microwavable safe container and melt frosting (10-15 seconds). Dunk cookies and let dry.



 

Did You Try This Recipe? Tag Me Now!






39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page